Cut!


Most of these posts are about the difficulties of child-rearing but I’m trying not to dwell on the negatives so I’ll take a break from that.

Last night I couldn’t get to sleep at all. I watched a couple of movies, stuff I wouldn’t ordinarily look at due to the scarcity of noninfomercial programming on Directv at 3 ayem or so.
Hesher“, was one, with Joseph Gordon-Levitt in a really uncharacteristic role. He played an anarchist (by temperament if not politics) who one day decided to occupy these folks’ garage. The father and son were grieving over the recent loss of their wife and mother by auto accident, and they lived Granny, who cooked for them. It was quite good, involving, if a trifle hard to suspend disbelief for in spots.
And I watched Fred Williamson, Jim Brown, Pam Grier, Richard Roundtree, Ron O’Neal, Robert Forster, Wings Hauser, and others ham their way through “Original Gangstas“…some of those 70s blaxploitation flicks are classics, and this one tried to ape the style while telling a more contemporary neighborhood vs. the gang story. Didn’t work very well…but it could have. Tarantino’s been making that movie for years. That cast is superb-if you know who those people are, then you have an idea of how good that movie could have been. I got the feeling that a lot of the best scenes were lost on the cutting-room floor.

Finally I did get to sleep. This used to happen to me with some regularity back when we had cable…on Sunday nights the MeTV would have a “Noir” setup, and I’d wake up @3 to watch my old favorite Route 66. I was t6oo young to have seen many of the episodes of that show first-run, but I caught it on Nickolodeon in the early early days of that station and got hooked. I suppose I should buy myself the dvd one of these days, because it’s a truly enjoyable series. Class tv, like they haven’t made for many years. I kept hoping that the Stacy Keach Mike Hammer series was going to ascend to those heights, but it never quite did. It was good but never quite got there.

The reason I mention it is because that’s another series that I used to wake up to watch, not quite on purpose. There are a couple more-I’m a lifelong insomniac with a weird sleep cycle that has me up late for ten nights or so and then drops back to diurnal.

But I usually spend the time reading or writing. I went through Alan Dean Foster‘s entire Humanx series of sixteen books or so during the last round. One round in November produced a novel, one in February produced a successful RPM challenge.

Nothing has ever made that cycle sit up and behave. I’m just going to have to live with it.

Leave a Reply

